12 August, 1887


The National Library of the Philippines, formerly known as the Museo-Biblioteca de Filipinas, was established by a royal order of the Spanish government.

It opened officially on October 24, 1891 at the Casa de la Moneda in Intramuros, then home of the Philippine Mint, with around 100 volumes and Julian Romero and Benito Perdiguero as director and archivist-librarian, respectively.

Today, the National Library’s most-prized possessions include Dr. Jose Rizal’s Noli Me Tangere, El Filibusterismo and Mi Ultimo Adiós. Three of his unfinished novels and the Philippine Declaration of Independence are kept in a special double-combination vault at the Rare Documents Section of the Filipiniana Division’s reading room.

(Ref: Philippine News Agency; Photo (c) Sky Harbor)

stay in the loop...

Join Pinoy Stop community and be the first to receive regular updates on Filipino Events, Wellington survival tips and other information for Filipinos living, working, visiting and studying in New Zealand. LIKE our Facebook page or Follow Us on Twitter.

Pinoy Stop FB Pinoy Stop Twitter Pinoy Stop Youtube Pinoy Stop RSS feed
Information compiled by: PINOY STOP | CONTACT US


Pinoy Stop admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *